## Meeting Minutes NDACo Delegate Council Assembly October 22, 2024 Bismarck Event Center – Main Level Hall A

President Jayme Tenneson (Nelson/Griggs County State's Attorney) called the 2024 meeting of the NDACo Delegate Council to order at 8:04 AM and appointed Aaron Birst, NDACo Executive Director, as Parliamentarian for the meeting.

The President noted the minutes of the previous meeting have been reviewed and approved by the Convention Minutes Committee. He then introduced the officers of the Association and then asked the entire Board of Directors to stand and be recognized.

The President then called on NDACo Executive Director Aaron Birst to deliver his report on the Association. Aaron provided a brief summary about the conference, staff, and activities NDACo is focusing on in the coming year.

After thanking Aaron, the President called for the Standing Committee reports, beginning with the Governance Committee Report.

Chair Kaiser (Stutsman), Chair of the Governance Committee, started the Governance Committee report by addressing their duties as the Nominating Committee. He presented the following slate of candidates for delegate consideration:

- > For President: Trudy Ruland, Mountrail County Commissioner
- > For 1st Vice President: Chad Kaiser, Stutsman County Sheriff
- > For 2nd Vice President: Nick Moser, Cavalier County Commissioner
- For 3rd Vice President: Kim Jacobson, Agassiz Valley Human Service Zone Director

The President asked three times for further nominations for each of the positions on the ballot. Don Flaherty (Dickey) moved to accept Trudy Ruland as President, motion was seconded and passed. Dana Larsen (Ward) moved to accept Chad Kaiser as 1<sup>st</sup> Vice President, motion was seconded and passed. Shelly Weppler (Ward) moved to accept Nick Moser as 2<sup>nd</sup> Vice President, motion was seconded and passed. Motion by Kurt Elliott (Traill) to accept Kim Jacobsen as 3<sup>rd</sup> Vice President, motion was seconded and passed.

Chad Kaiser then reported that the Governance Committee reviewed the current Constitution and Bylaws and was recommending changes that would allow the newlyformed, combined North Dakota County Auditors' and Treasurers' Association, which is no longer two separate associations, to keep their same representation on the NDACo Board. He explained the individual changes required. The last amendment was to address that the county commission representatives to the Board are often selected BEFORE the annual convention now that most caucus meetings are held in the weeks leading up to the annual conference. Chad Kaiser made a motion to accept the Constitution and Bylaw changes, motion was seconded and passed on a voice vote.

The President thanked the Governance Committee for their work and congratulated those elected.

Tenneson asked Past President Steve Lee to deliver the Resolutions Report on behalf of the Committee. After reading the titles of the NDCCA & NDACo Resolution Policy #1 and the individual resolutions proposed by the Resolutions Committee, he asked if any should be withdrawn for separate discussion and action. No resolutions were asked to be withdrawn for discussion. The President then asked for adoption of all resolutions in one motion.

The resolution policy and resolutions proposed for adoption were:

<u>NDCCA & NDACo Resolutions Policy #1</u>: Policies adopted at the NDCCA Annual Business Meeting and NDACo Delegate Council Meeting shall be in effect for a period of 4 years. Any policy not renewed or modified after that period shall be null and void.

## 2024 Proposed Resolutions:

2024-01 Alternatives to Property Tax Funding
2024-02 Property Tax Exemptions
2024-03 Support for County Infrastructure
2024-04 Support for the North Dakota Insurance Reserve Fund
2024-05 Cooperative Sharing of Services
2024-06 Support for American Energy Independence
2024-07 Support for the United States Postal Service
2024-08 Onsite Wastewater Systems
2024-09 Foreclosure Properties

Steve Lee (McLean) then moved that Resolutions Policy #1 and all resolutions be adopted. The motion was seconded by Carrie Krause (Wells) and the motion passed on a voice vote.

President Tenneson then introduced the new officers and then recognized three new board members: Don Flaherty (Dickey) is replacing Lori Hanson (Mountrail), Aaron Mork (Nelson) is replacing Steve Forde (Nelson), and Joshua Frey is filling the State's Attorney position on the Board now that Tenneson is moving to Past President. Plaques were awarded to outgoing board members.

The President then presented NDACo Past President Steve Lee with a plaque as outgoing past president and he shared his final thoughts as past president. He presented outgoing President Jayme Tenneson with a plaque in recognition of his past year as President.

Newly elected President Trudy Ruland was then called to the podium to receive the gavel and begin her Presidency.

President Ruland provided comments regarding her start as President and then asked if there was any further business to discuss; there being none, the President adjourned the 2024 Delegate Council meeting.

Approved by: \_\_\_\_\_

Date: \_\_\_\_\_