Juvenile Justice State Advisory Group (JJSAG) Meeting Minutes July 31, 2024 Remote Meeting via Microsoft Teams

Members Present:

Terry Traynor (Chair)

Lisa Bjergaard

Lynn Flieth

Mark Heinert

Oliva Revels-Strother

Derek Steiner

Lisa Bjergaard

Lynn Flieth

Bryan Harris

Diane Larson

Kylie Schultz

Jennifer Withers

Members Absent:

Jadyn Chakua Cathy Ferderer Joel Friesz

Dusty Johnson Caisee Sandusky

Others Present:

Lisa Jahner Cory Pedersen

Chairman Traynor called the meeting to order at 1:00 pm. He asked two new members, Bryan Harris and Mark Heinert, to introduce themselves.

The minutes of the meeting on 6/5/24 were presented for approval. Russ Riehl moved to approve the minutes. The motion was seconded and passed on a voice vote.

Russ Riehl, as chair of the SAG Planning & Grants Subcommittee, provided an update relative to the Request For Proposals that were issued for consultants to assist the SAG with its racial equity and cultural competence goals.

Lisa Jahner presented North Dakota's 2024-26 Three-Year Plan, which included an overview of the state's compliance with the mandates of the Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention Act, Reducing Racial and Ethnic Disparities Plan, crime analysis, and plan objectives drafted by the SAG subcommittee based on the priority areas that had been established. She then presented the proposed FY2024 Title II Formula Grant allocations. There was questions and discussion by the group. Russ Riehl made a motion that the plan and funding allocations be approved. The motion was seconded and passed on a voice vote.

Tim Geinger and Cassandra Blakely from Dakota Boys and Girls Ranch provided an update regarding the Prevention Care Program that was awarded funding by the SAG.

Russ Riehl provided a member update relative to school-based behavioral health at Simle Middle School.

Meeting adjourned at 2:30 pm.